Currently- and a 5k

I had a baby about 9 months ago and man that is a life-changer  As well as a body changer. I’ve never really struggled with weight to be honest. In high school I swam and ran track and in turn was very fit. Then college came and I joined the swim team as well as swim classes. Then my last couple years of college, I got married, had harder classes, had a busier schedule, and had a job. The last thing on my mind was fitness since it was already a part of my daily routine because I had made it that way it didn’t even cross my mind when I got too busy for it and in turn gained a few pounds here and there.

Now I have graduated, had a baby (gaining a few more pounds), and I am a stay at home mom. First I’ll say I LOVE this job, BUT no one ever tells you how emotionally draining it can be. I have a fussy kid. I love her, but, man, she is high maintenance, as we like to call her. So since I’ve had her I have found it really hard to leave her, even with my husband. I’m not the type of mom that just can’t leave my kid but I can’t leave her because I feel bad for whoever I would be leaving her with because of how fussy she is. Finally my husband told me I needed to take some time for myself, and what a better opportunity than to get back into shape. So when my husband would get home from work he would take her for 40-60 minutes while I hit the gym. I would often come home to find him swinging her softly in a blanket, usually for the whole time I was gone. And even then sometimes he would text me halfway through my workout and he would ask me to come home because of little miss.

photo

Doesn’t she just melt your heart? Fussy but worth it.

Anyway this was the beginning of my journey back to where I was before. I had realized that I was stressing myself out over a LOT of things. I hadn’t taken the time for myself. I was drained emotionally, physically, mentally, and spiritually.

So slowly I’m taking back over, but in a whole new light. I’m a mom now and as much as my little one comes first, part of that is putting me first sometimes so that I can be a better person for her.

_________________________________________________

So physically I wanted a goal to start with and that was to run a 5k! I know a 5k really isn’t that much, although for some it is, but maybe that can be your goal, to run a 5k. So like I said before I wasn’t sure about leaving my kid with someone so I found a 5k that would allow strollers. It was a fun run, they didn’t time it, although I timed myself. But let me tell you it was a blast! Color in Motion 5k and we had so much fun!

photo

I think that this will be the family tradition each year, in hopes that it’ll help teach my girl (and possible future kids) the importance of fitness.

Now that I have conquered my 5k goal, next stop is 10k! yay!

 

Leave a Reply

